Tips for writing a Travel Article

Ink Well - webToday my first travel article was published on American website Wandering Educators and I’m so delighted!

It has been a dream of mine for some time to combine my passion for travel with my love of writing – and it is slowly all coming together.

I’ve been writing for many years about a wide range of topics and have picked up a few tips along the way …

  1. Have an ANGLE. What will differentiate you from all the other travel writers out there? I look for the QUIRKY in all I write about.
  2. Use your own PHOTOS to give a visual image to support your writing. Mine are taken on a digital SLR – and some are by my friends,  professional photographers www.lordmartin.com
  3. Find your VOICE – one that is appropriate for you, your audience and what you are writing about. I imagine a good friend who wants to know about my latest exploits, gets bored easily and needs a bit of variety.
  4. Use vocabulary suitable for those who might read your article. I adapt my language slightly depending on who askes me to write.
  5. Understand HOW you write. Do you need to have peace & quiet? Do you prefer music or silence? I need to do two or three things at once and procrastinate until the last minute!

The main thing I have learnt is that you have to ENJOY it – otherwise there are undoubtedly loads of other things you could be doing … I love it and can’t wait for my next commission!

6 responses to “Tips for writing a Travel Article

  1. Well done Zoe – great article. Excellent advice to writers.
    Jackie

    Like

  2. great job, zoe! we’re so happy to have you as our quirky traveller editor on http://www.WanderingEducators.com. LOVED that article!

    Like

Leave a Reply

