What is a holiday?

“Are you going on holiday?” asked the friendly chap in the car as I trundled my suitcase down to Carnforth Station (its claim to fame being the setting for ‘Brief Encounter’s tearful farewells from Celia to Trevor). “Yes,” I replied. “I’m going to London for the weekend.” And that set me thinking .. Was I going on holiday – and if not, what was I doing?

Attending a TravelWriting Workshop is not really the stuff of holidays – is it? But I didn’t see it as work; rather a great and hopefully enjoyable way to learn some new skills, meet like-minded people and enjoy myself.  I was also meeting up with a new-found friend from Twitter, Sharon Eden, whose inspirational website Women Of Courage was part of the reason I decided to take the plunge to write. I would be sight-seeing and was really looking forward to it all…  in my mind it was a holiday.

The question is then “What is a holiday?” Do let me know – because I am really not sure, thanks to that cheery chap in Carnforth!

2 responses to “What is a holiday?

  1. I had seen that workshop- how was it? In my book any trip to London is a holiday- but it’s much farther from Iowa than from Cambria!

    Like

  2. Hi – Yes I def agree! It was great weekend and there is so much to see & do in London. The workshop was great with participants from Australia, Canada, Switzerland & Germany! Dea & Rory are off to run a week in Marrakesh next week. Maybe suggest they go over to Iowa 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

