Zoë Dawes aka The Quirky Traveller

Welcome to my quirky world…Zoe Dawes outside Anne Tyson's Cottage Grasmere

This is a place to share a love of travel and life’s more quirky paths.  As well as my own musings on a wide variety of  topics, guest writers contribute their own thoughts on an aspect of travel that appeals to them and hopefully many others …

QUIRKY Travel is about seeing life from a different angle, looking at things from all sides, finding the unusual, the interesting, the fascinating. It’s about quality combined with reality, it’s about being curious about everything and wanting to know more…

Meeting new people, discovering fascinating cultures, eating strange foods and seeing curious customs have fuelled my fascination with the breadth and depth of experiences that travel gifts us.

Born in the seaside town of Southport, NW UK, I have lived and worked all over the world.  Having originally trained and worked as an English teacher, I gave it all up to live in Greece, exploring the Mamma Mia life.  Then I moved to the Far East, having great adventures whilst living in Hong Kong and Singapore.  During those years I journeyed to many different countries, including Egypt, Turkey, South Africa, Nepal, America, Thailand, Borneo, the Philippines and Malaysia.  More recently I have visited Finland, Norway, Canada, Sweden, Iceland, travelled around Spain and had a truly memorable trip to Australia to learn aboutAboriginal Food and Culture and spent time in uplifting Uluru.

I live on the Cumbria-Lancashire border, one of the most diverse and lovely parts of the world where I share my passion for life with my family and friends throughout the UK and beyond.  My website is The Quirky Traveller and you can find me on Face Book, Google+ and Twitter.

This quote by Marcel Proust probably best sums up my philosophy on life AND travel …

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.”  

2 responses to “Zoë Dawes aka The Quirky Traveller

  1. What a great intro – i love it. I’m currently sat in a little bar somewhere is Basque Spain overlooking a river so blue you would think it photshopped, with a g&t and fletch asleep on my knee. Now that’s the way work should be done…! If only it lasted longer than a month 😊 x

    Like

    • Cheers Stacy – this is not my main blog but decided to update it as it is loitering unread on the internet! How absolutely lovely to be in Spain – have a G&T for me! You’ll be glad to know it’s raining here 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

